CARABAO QUARTER-FINALS: Blues host Magpies as Reds welcome Hammers

Liverpool have been drawn at home against West Ham whilst Chelsea will host Newcastle after the Carabao Cup quarter final draw took place on Wednesday night.

The Blues took part in a thrilling demolition of Sean Dyche’s former side Burnley on what was an emotional occasion at Goodison Park. The club marked the passing of chairman Bill Kenwright with a 3-0 win, courtesy of goals from James Tarkowski, Amadou Onana and Ashley Young.

Meanwhile the Reds travelled the South Coast as Storm Ciaran also approached. Cody Gakpo’s first-half opener was eventually cancelled out by Justin Kluivert, however some late heroics from Darwin Nunez rescued the round for the Jurgen Klopp’s men, who remain in the hunt for the prize they won two seasons ago.

Elsewhere both Arsenal and Manchester United were eliminated from the competition, blowing it wide open as the final at Wembley approaches.

Ball number three was Liverpool’s, while Everton took ball number five. Drawn by Izzy Christiansen and Andy Cole pitchside after United’s match at Old Trafford, this is how the quarter final shaped up in full:

QF Tie 1: Everton vs Fulham

QF Tie 2: Chelsea vs Newcastle United

QF Tie 3: Port Vale vs Middlesbrough

QF Tie 4: Liverpool vs West Ham United

It means both of the Merseyside clubs play host to teams from the capital – a first hint that both fixtures won’t take place on the same night.

Those two ties have already been played this season, the Blues losing 1-0 to Marco Silva’s men on the opening day of the campaign while the Reds overcame the Hammers at Anfield in September.

The last time Everton faced this opponent in the League Cup was 10 years ago, the Cottagers running out 2-1 winners on the banks of the River Thames.

Liverpool meanwhile have not played West Ham in this competition since January 1983, when David Hodgson and Graeme Souness scored the crucial goals.

Dates and times will be confirmed for the next round in the coming days, although it is known that the fixtures will take place on the week commencing Monday, December 18.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *